national Arts Festival Banner

Sunday, October 3, 2010


Entries open for 22nd SAB Environmentalist and Environmental Journalists of the Year Awards.

SAB has announced the 22nd anniversary of the SAB Environmental Journalists of the Year Awards. The 2010 SAB Environmental Journalists of the Year Awards will be adjudicated based on work produced between October 1, 2009, and September 30, 2010.

Entries close on October 11, 2010, at 16h00 and the awards will take place in Johannesburg on November 17, 2010.

The categories are print and internet (includes all newspapers, magazines and websites); radio and television (includes all broadcast media as well as independent filmmakers and production houses) and the Nick Steele Memorial Award which is given to the Environmentalist of the Year. Each of the three awards carries a cash prize of R20,000 and a trophy. Merit prizes carry an amount of R2,500 each. The Magqubu Ntombela and Ian Player Cub Award will honour environmental journalists starting out in the field and carries a R7,500 prize and trophy.

All journalists are invited to submit their own work. Editors, managers and colleagues are invited to nominate the work of others. For all information about the awards and to download entry forms go to