national Arts Festival Banner

Wednesday, December 28, 2011


Brett Goldin 2012 Bursary winners: Nkosinathi Gaar and Timothy Redpath with Denise Goldin

Timothy Redpath (28) from KZN and Nkosinathi Gaar (26) from Johannesburg are the latest recipients of the Brett Goldin Bursary award for 2012.]

The Brett Goldin Bursary was set up immediately after the young actor Goldin and his friend, fashion designer Richard Bloom, both 28, were brutally murdered over the Easter weekend on April 16, five years ago, just days before he was due to leave for Stratford-upon-Avon. Goldin was due to perform the role of Guildenstern in the Baxter’s production of Hamlet, directed by Dame Janet Suzman, which launched the prestigious Royal Shakespeare Company’s Complete Works Festival. The double murder sent shockwaves throughout South Africa and England.

The Royal Shakespeare Company, The Actors Centre and the Baxter Theatre Centre established the bursary, which was kick-started by donations from respected South African-born actors Sir Antony Sher and Honorary RSC Associate Dame Janet Suzman, to give other young actors the opportunity which Brett was denied, and to honour his memory in an appropriate manner.

Denise Goldin, mother of the late Brett, said, “My family and I are deeply honoured that Brett’s memory continues to be upheld with the incredible success of this unique opportunity and it has been a joy to see how it has benefited the young actors who have been through the programme. Besides enhancing their own performances these actors have brought back to South Africa their passion for Shakespeare and positively used this to encourage and inspire upcoming actors to share their love of Shakespeare. I would like to congratulate Nkosinathi and Timothy, who are both superb young actors, on becoming the latest recipients of this important bursary.”

The two actors were chosen from four finalists and a shortlist of 17 (out of nearly 60 applications received countrywide) who took part in the three-day audition process at the Baxter Theatre Centre. The other two finalists were Adrian Collins and Chiedza Mhende.

Formerly from KZN, Timothy graduated from Rhodes University in 2007 with a BA in Drama and Philosophy. He has received great acclaim for his performances in the one-man plays Prodigal and Mouche both in South Africa and in the UK. At the 2009 Edinburgh Festival he won the Sweet Entertainment Best Actor Award for his portrayal in Mouche. Tim is a member of the fledgling Framework Company and has performed the role of Hamlet for them. He has performed in the classic play Woza Albert in theatres and at schools throughout the country.

Nkosinathi graduated from UCT with honours in theatre-making in 2007. He performed in the Magnet Theatre's Voices Made Night, Janni Younge's Dolod, Handspring Puppet Company's Woyzeck on the Highveld (European tour) and his one-man show H.O.T.T. in Cape Town and Johannesburg. He has directed two original works professionally, Ouma/A Little Red for the Festival of Fame and Her Honey like Lips at the Out the Box Festival at the Baxter Theatre Centre. Nkosinathi was a cast member in the Baxter and Royal Shakespeare’s Company’s production of The Tempest, directed by Janice Honeyman in 2009.

In July 2012 the two successful bursars will travel to the home of the Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) in Stratford-upon-Avon, England, birthplace of the world’s most famous playwright. They will be based in the Artist Development Department and it is hoped that much of the learning experience will come from observation, discussion with personnel working in production, press and casting departments and through contact with other actors, directors and members of the RSC.

The bursary is a short post graduate course designed to enhance and fine-tune actors who are committed to the need and desire to expand their knowledge and acting ability of Shakespeare. Furthermore, their willingness to use the skills gained to enthuse and, on their return, to encourage others towards a love and understanding of Shakespeare is essential.

KZN actress now based in Johannesburg, Josette Eales, was the joint 2010 recipient with Thato Moraka.

The Brett Goldin Bursary is held every two years and two winners are selected. For more information on how to support the Brett Goldin Bursary Fund visit under the heading “Fundraising”.