national Arts Festival Banner

Saturday, December 3, 2011


The Tim Wells Blues Band will launch their much awaited CD, Everything You Want, on January 27, 2012. The evening will be hosted by the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre with MC Iain Ewok Robinson and guest artists Colin Peddie and Kerry Wood of “Rise” fame, Joseph Clark and Brendan Jury.

Sponsored lighting and staging will be by Michael Broderick and staging/direction by Dean Bennewith of Eeny Meeny Mini Mo Entertainment. Sound and management will be by Jackie Cunniffe.

The Tim Wells Blues Band comprises Tim on vocals, Nux Schwartz on guitar, Peter Enslin on keys, Jason Andrew on bass and Steve du Plessis on drums. The band often collaborates with Colin Peddie (guitar) and Smelly Fellows on bass (who may be able to make a guest appearance on the night).

The band has performed at two of the Durban International Blues Festivals (2010 and 2011) to acclaim and at the 2010 Fifa World Cup fan parks as well as the Durban World Music Festival 2011 plus various private functions. The band also presented the show Big Blue at the Rhumbelow Theatre in 2010 for which Nux Schwartz and Tim Wells were nominated for The Mercury Durban Theatre Awards.

Produced by Nux Schwartz, the new CD promises something for everyone and the material is largely written by Tim Wells with only three of the tracks being the band’s versions of “covers” or standards. These include a moving rendition of Van Morrison’s Into the Mystic and BB King’s Woke up this Morning which was made famous by Snowy White. A bonus track on the CD will be a remix of one Tim’s songs Every Little Bit Counts featuring spoken word/rap by Iain Ewok Robinson.

The CD launch will take place on January 27 at 19h30 at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre. Tickets R30 booked at Computicket,, 0861 915 8000. The new album CD's will be on sale for R100 at the desk.