national Arts Festival Banner

Friday, January 27, 2012


The Centre for Creative Arts (University of KwaZulu-Natal) will host the 15th Time of the Writer international writers’ festival from March 19 to 24. Supported by the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund (principal funder) and other funders and partners, the festival will bring together leading local and African authors, offering a valuable opportunity for the public to gain insight into the creative processes and perspectives which inform their writing.

Evening readings, book launches and discussions will take place at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban. Wide-reaching day activities, including school visits and writers workshops are spread across Durban and surrounding areas as part of the festival’s ongoing effort to promote and nurture a culture of reading, writing and creative expression, particularly among the youth.

Time of the Writer invites learners from Grades 8 to 12, to submit material for the short story writing competition to be held in conjunction with the festival. Learners are invited to engage creatively with a topic of their choice. Submissions are due no later than March 1. Entries must be fictional stories and not critical essays. A maximum of 5 pages (preferably typed) are to be written in English, Zulu or Afrikaans. Illegible entries will not be considered.

Winners will be awarded cash prizes and given complimentary tickets to attend the festival, where they will be awarded their prizes. Prizes include cash and book vouchers contributed by the Mazisi Kunene Foundation and Adams Campus Booksellers. Learners who would like to be involved in this competition should submit their stories, together with the name of their school, teacher’s name, and the school telephone number, to the Centre for Creative Arts. Entries may be hand delivered to the Centre, e-mailed to or faxed to 031 260 3074.

For more information on the festival or the competition, please contact the Centre for Creative Arts on 031 260 2506/1816 or email or visit our website:

Time of the Writer 2012 is supported by the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund (principal funder), Department of Arts and Culture, City of Durban, French Institute of South Africa, Pro-Helvetia Arts Council of Switzerland, Goethe Institute of South Africa and City of Durban.