national Arts Festival Banner

Friday, February 8, 2013


Now celebrating its triumphant fifth anniversary, Think Theatre’s widely acclaimed production of Shakespeare’s Othello returns to the stage for further seasons in KZN and Gauteng this year.

Presented in association with The Playhouse Company, the production is directed as previously by Clare Mortimer, whose skills as a multi-award-winning theatre practitioner are complemented by her experience as a writer and a respected English teacher. Highly esteemed by school teachers and parents alike, Think Theatre’s production of Othello offers an invaluable learning aid for secondary school learners studying Shakespeare’s stage tragedy as a set work.

Loyiso MacDonald reprises his portrayal of the title role, last seen in 2011 before he took up TV roles in Isidingo and Those Who Can’t. Robyn Mc Harry again appears as Desdemona following her role debut last year, and Clinton Small’s Durban Theatre Award-winning performance as the villainous Iago can once more be appreciated.

Mortimer returns to the role of Iago’s wife, Emilia, in an accomplished cast that again features Michael Gritten, Daisy Spencer, Marc Kay, Adam Doré, Bryan Hiles, Rowan Bartlett and Darren King.

Each year, Othello has played to packed houses, and tickets for this year’s staging of Shakespeare’s timeless tragedy are once again in heavy demand.

Othello runs at Hilton College Theatre from February 11 to15 followed by a season in the Playhouse Drama from February 18 to March 27. Schools performances are Mondays to Fridays daily at 09h00 and 12h00, with a public performance on February 26 in the Playhouse Drama at 19h00. Tickets R50 (R80 for adults attending the public performance). Bookings are through the show’s producer, Margie Coppen, on 083 251 9412.

The production then moves to Gauteng where it will perform at the University of Johannesburg from May 6 to 17 and then to Pretoria to the Brooklyn Theatre from May 19 to 22.

Think Theatre's production of Othello is supported by the University of Johannesburg and BASA.