national Arts Festival Banner

Wednesday, June 18, 2014


In a celebration of 20 years of democracy, the Wushwini Arts and Heritage Centre, University of KwaZulu-Natal (Howard College) and Stable Theatre are collaborating on the first musical adaptation of Peter Abrahams novel, Mine Boy.

Before travelling to other South African cities, Mine Boy will be presented in Durban at Stable Theatre and Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre.

This classic text, written in 1949, is considered the first modern South African novel written by a black author. Over time it has not lost any relevance. The themes around apartheid, labour and poverty are those we read in the paper every day. Consequently, the show questions what really has changed since 1994?

After successful adaptations of Zakes Mda’s Madonna of Excelsior and Ben Okri’s The Famished Road, directors Roel Twijnstra and Jerry Pooe have adapted this definitive novel with exciting choreography by Sifiso Majola of Flatfoot Dance Company together with the cast. Design and video projections are by Doung Jahangeer, photographs by Dean Hutton.

Eager Artists – the resident theatre company of Wushwini Arts and Heritage Centre founded by Jerry Pooe in 1993 when he was still a student of then Natal University, is also celebrating 20 years with this production.

Mine Boy runs at Stable Theatre from June 20 to 24 with performances for the public on June 20 and 21 at 19h00 and on June 21 at 15h00.

Performances for schools take place June 20 at 10h00; June 23 at 10h00 and 12h00 and June 24 at 10h00. Tickets R50 (R35pp for schools).

All bookings are through Stable Theatre on 031 309 2513 (office hours) and tickets will also be available at the door. First night reservations are free. With easy access off the N3 Warwick Triangle flyover, Stable Theatre is situated at 115 Johannes Nkosi Street (formerly Alice Street).

Performances at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre will run from September 26 to October 5.

This production of Mine Boy is made possible through generous support from: DAC, City of Ethekwini, UKZN and Santam.