national Arts Festival Banner

Tuesday, April 14, 2015


The Centre for Jazz and Popular Music is proud to present the Pretoria-based band “The new school sextet” on April 15 at 18h00.

New Skool seeks to be a true reflection of a new South Africa, a reflection of how we view our country in a new way, as well as a modern-day South African approach to music. It also seeks to bring forth a new wave of music that speaks of a current reality. "The Birth of Change”- A true reflection of what our feelings sound like.

The band, who refer to their sound as Ethnic-Fusion, comprises Sibusiso Sibanyoni (bass), Pule Mpeke (drums), Tshepo Tsotetsi (saxophone/clarinet), Bongani Tshabalala (trumpet), Musawenkosi Mdluli (piano), and Thabang Sithole (trombone).

The group plays regularly at The Orbit Jazz club in Johannesburg. The members are a part of the dynamic young orchestra that calls forth a new order to orchestral music in South Africa the “New Skool Orchestra”.

The performance takes place at 18h00 on April 15 at The Centre for Jazz and Popular Music (CJPM) Level 2, Shepstone Building at UKZN Howard College Campus.

Entry R50 (R30 pensioners and R15 students). For more information contact Thuli on 031 260 3385 or email