national Arts Festival Banner

Tuesday, November 24, 2015


The Mercury Durban Theatre Awards were held last night (November 23) at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre. The awardees are:

1. Poster Design: Artworks Communications: Skungpoomery

2. Sound Design: Stephanie Pais: Shrek The Musical

3. Lighting Design: Tina le Roux: Shrek The Musical

4. Costume Design: Greg King: Aladdin

5. Set Design: Greg King: Jeeves & Wooster in Perfect Nonsense

6. New Performer – Female: Nqobile Mthembu: The Working Man

7. New Performer – Male: Mfundiseni Ndwalane: The Working Man


8. Supporting Actress: Caitlin Kilburn: Aladdin

9. Supporting Actor: Rory Booth: Aladdin

10. Lead Actress: Georgina Mabbett: Aladdin

11. Lead Actor: Nhlakanipho Manqele: Skungpoomery

12. Director: Steven Stead: Aladdin

13. Production: Aladdin: KickstArt


14. Choreography; Lucky Cele: ‘Mashu The Musical

15. Performer: Music Revue / Cabaret: Lisa Bobbert: Defending the Planet #2 and Aaron McIlroy: Defending the Planet #2

16. Supporting Actress: Musical Theatre: Samkelisiwe Hlophe: ‘Mashu The Musical

17. Supporting Actor: Musical Theatre: Jacobus van Heerden: Shrek The Musical

18. Lead Actress: Musical Theatre: Jessica Sole: Shrek The Musical

19. Lead Actor: Musical Theatre: Lyle Buxton: Shrek The Musical

20. Musical Director: Sergeant Malishe: ‘Mashu The Musical

21. Director: Steven Stead: Shrek The Musical

22. Music Revue Production: Defending the Planet #2: MacBob Productions

23. Musical Theatre Production: Shrek The Musical: KickstArt


24. Script: Clinton Marius: B!#ch stole my doek

25. Supporting Actress: Danica Delaray: Secret Valley of Great Kings

26. Supporting Actor: Sboniso Msimango: The Working Man

27. Comedic Performance by a Female: Shona Johnson: B!#ch stole my doek

28. Comedic Performance by a Male: Robert Fridjhon: Jeeves & Wooster in Perfect Nonsense

29. Lead Actress: Shona Johnson: B!#ch stole my doek

30. Lead Actor: Graham Hopkins: Jeeves & Wooster in Perfect Nonsense

31. Director: Steven Stead: Jeeves & Wooster in Perfect Nonsense

32. Production: Jeeves & Wooster in Perfect Nonsense: KickstArt in association with Pieter Toerien Productions

33. Monica Fairall Memorial Award: Madala Kunene

34. Judges Award: Tiki Nxumalo (posthumous award)

35. The Mercury Theatre Personality of the Year Award: Aaron McIlroy