national Arts Festival Banner

Sunday, March 27, 2016


In keeping with its mandate to support and develop South Africa’s arts, culture and heritage sector, The National Arts Council (NAC) has awarded 117 bursaries to arts students and tertiary institutions for 2016 through a fund allocation of over R5 million, a 10% increase from the last financial year.

The bursaries will support both undergraduate studies at institutions as well as post graduate individuals across disciplines, signaling the NAC’s holistic approach to funding as a means of development.

The bursaries have been awarded to students and institutions in five provinces (Gauteng, Western Cape, Eastern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal and Free State), in the fields of craft (11), dance (5), literature (13), multidiscipline (14), music (24), theatre (17) and visual arts (33).

Some of the supported institutions include the University of the Free State, the University of the Witwatersrand School of the Arts, the University of Johannesburg, the University of Cape Town, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Tshwane University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, Funda Community College, Oakfield College, Moving Into Dance Mopatong and LISOF. The full list of bursaries awarded can be accessed on the NAC’s website,

As a state-owned entity operating under the auspices of the Department of Arts and Culture, the NAC is aware of and responding to government’s broader priority of providing affordable, quality higher education to South Africa’s youth.

“It’s not only about disbursing grants. The NAC is undergoing constant and unrelenting transition to cater to all the needs of arts and cultural workers and their development. And what better way to do this than by providing support to students who will go on to participate in and contribute to the arts and culture industry. Our aim is for them do so in a meaningful and sustainable way,” says NAC chief executive officer Rosemary Mangope.

To read more about the work of the NAC go to or follow them on Facebook and Twitter - @nacsouthafrica