national Arts Festival Banner

Sunday, October 30, 2016


The 14th annual Durban Theatre Awards evening takes place on November 21 at The Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre, UKZN Howard College campus, when the best of Durban theatre will be acknowledged and celebrated.

The awards consider only those productions originating in Durban and presented during the period from October 1, 2015, to September 30, 2016. These productions represent the genres of drama and comedy, musical theatre, and children’s theatre. This past year has been a rather lean year for theatre in Durban with only 20 new and restaged productions vying for honours at this year’s awards ceremony.

Hosted once again by radio, television and media personality, Terence Pillay, the evening promises to be a sophisticated and glamorous celebration of Durban’s local theatre industry. Members of the public are welcome to join in the celebration can expect to brush shoulders with the who’s who of Durban’s theatre fraternity.

Durban Theatre Awards is grateful for the generosity of its sponsors and partners supporting this year’s awards ceremony, many of whom have supported the awards over the past 14 years. Without such support this event would not take place.

Principal sponsors are the KwaZulu-Natal Performing Arts Trust, The Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre, DarkHorse Productions, Publicity Matters, Sunshine Factory, Black Coffee Designs, artSMart, Val Adamson Photography and KZN Autocue Services.

The Durban Theatre Awards take place at 19h30 on November 21 at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre. Booking is through Computicket.

The list of nominations is as follows:

1. Poster Design

Shirley Berko: Into the Woods; Shirley Berko: Puss in Boots; Jason Bird: Comedy Masterclass; Vanessa Burger, AdDesigns101: Sweetie Darling; Freshpress: Winnie The Pooh; Brad Purchase & Jacobus van Heerden: SuperChop

2. Sound Design

Stephanie Pais: Puss in Boots; Ross van Wyk: Comedy Masterclass; Ross van Wyk: Into the Woods; Ross van Wyk: Winnie The Pooh

3. Lighting Design

Michael Broderick: Comedy Masterclass; Michael Broderick: SuperChop; Tina le Roux: Into the Woods; Tina le Roux: Puss in Boots; Tina le Roux: Ulwembu; Tina le Roux: Winnie The Pooh

4. Costume Design

Greg King: Puss in Boots; Greg King: Winnie The Pooh; Neil Stuart Harris: Into the Woods

5. Set Design

Michael Broderick: SuperChop; Greg King: Into the Woods; Greg King: Puss in Boots; Greg King: Winnie The Pooh

6. New Performer – Female - No nominations

7. New Performer – Male

Jonathan Cohen: White Christmas; Ngcebo Cele: Ulwembu; Zenzo Msomi: Ulwembu; Phumlani Ngubane: Ulwembu


8. Supporting Actress

Liesl Coppin: Winnie The Pooh; Belinda Henwood: Puss in Boots; Caitlin Kilburn: Puss in Boots

9. Supporting Actor

Lyle Buxton: Puss in Boots; Peter Court: Puss in Boots; Peter Court: Winnie The Pooh; Bryan Hiles: Winnie The Pooh; Nhlakanipho Manqele: Puss in Boots; Nhlakanipho Manqele: Winnie The Pooh; Anthony Stonier: Winnie The Pooh

10. Lead Actress

Londiwe Dhlomo: Puss in Boots; Belinda Henwood: Winnie The Pooh

11. Lead Actor

Rowan Bartlett: Winnie The Pooh; Rory Booth: Puss in Boots; Bryan Hiles: Puss in Boots; Darren King: Puss in Boots

12. Director

Peter Court: Winnie The Pooh; Bryan Hiles: A Froggy Fairytale; Clinton Small: Scrooge – A Christmas Carol; Steven Stead: Puss in Boots

13. Production

A Froggy Fairytale: Bryan Hiles iaw The Rhumbelow Theatre; Puss in Boots: KickstArt; Scrooge – A Christmas Carol: The Actors Unemployed Company iaw The Rhumbelow Theatre; Winnie The Pooh: KickstArt


14. Choreography

Janine Bennewith: Puss in Boots; David Gouldie: SuperChop; Leigh Meyer: Into The Woods; Daisy Spencer: Winnie The Pooh

16. Supporting Actress: Musical Theatre

Liesl Coppin: Into the Woods; Haylea Hounsom: Into the Woods; Marion Loudon: Into the Woods; Katy Moore: Into the Woods

17. Supporting Actor: Musical Theatre

Peter Court: Into the Woods; Nathan Kruger: Into the Woods; Graeme Wicks: Into the Woods

18. Lead Actress: Musical Theatre

Lisa Bobbert: Into the Woods; Francis Currie: Into the Woods; Jessica Sole: Into the Woods

19. Lead Actor: Musical Theatre

Lyle Buxton: Into the Woods; Bryan Hiles: Into the Woods; Jacobus van Heerden: SuperChop

20. Musical Director

Jason Bird: Winnie The Pooh; Shelley McLean: Funny Father Christmas; Evan Roberts: Puss in Boots; Drew Reinstra: Into the Woods

21. Director

Liam Magner: SuperChop; Steven Stead: Into the Woods

23. Musical Theatre Production

Into the Woods: KickstArt; SuperChop: Neon Anthems


24. Script

Clinton Marius: Sweetie Darling; Clinton Marius: White Christmas; Collaboration: Neil Coppen, Dylan McGarry, Mpume Mtombeni, Ngcebo Cele, Vumani Khumalo, Zenzo Msomi, Phumlani Ngubane, Sandile Nxumalo: Ulwembu; Aaron McIlroy & Patrick Kenny: Comedy Masterclass; Sboniso Msimango: Flipside; Jacobus van Heerden: SuperChop

25. Supporting Actress - No nominations

26. Supporting Actor

Vumani Khumalo: Ulwembu; Phumlani Ngubane: Ulwembu; Sandile Nxumalo: Ulwembu; Wanda Zuma: Flipside

27. Comedic Performance by a Female - No nominations

28. Comedic Performance by a Male

Bongani Mbatha: Sweetie Darling; Aaron McIlroy: Comedy Masterclass

29. Strictly Solo

Jonathan Cohen: White Christmas; Bongani Mbatha: Sweetie Darling; Aaron McIlroy: Comedy Masterclass

30. Lead Actress

Mpume Mthombeni: Ulwembu

31. Lead Actor

Ngcebo Cele: Ulwembu; Jonathan Cohen: White Christmas; Bongani Mbatha: Sweetie Darling; Aaron McIlroy: Comedy Masterclass; Sboniso Msimango: Flipside; Zenzo Msomi: Ulwembu

32. Director

Neil Coppen: Ulwembu; Patrick Kenny: Comedy Masterclass; Clinton Marius: Sweetie Darling; Clinton Marius: White Christmas; Sboniso Msimango: Flipside

33. Production

Comedy Masterclass: MacBob Productions; Flipside: WordPlay Company; Sweetie Darling: CopyDog Productions iaw The Playhouse Company; Ulwembu: Empatheatre, The Playhouse Company & Open Society Foundations; White Christmas: Copy Dog

34. Judges Award - Announced on the night