national Arts Festival Banner

Saturday, June 3, 2017


Deadline: June 30, 2017.

The Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) is inviting nominations for the eagerly awaited 2017 ACT Awards, which are held annually in recognition and celebration of excellence within the arts, culture and creative sectors in South Africa.

The 2017 ACT Awards, hosted by Sun International and supported by the Nedbank Arts Affinity, DALRO, SAMRO, JTI and Creative Feel are now open for nominations for Lifetime Achievement Awards as well as an ImpACT Award for Young Professionals.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards have gained national acclaim and exposure throughout the industry, and are presented to industry stalwarts older than 60 years. At the same time, one young professional artist, not older than 30 years, will be acknowledged for making an impact during the first five years of their professional career.

Since their inception in 1998, the ACT Awards have celebrated more than 150 individuals and organisations that have made a significant cultural contribution to the country. For the first time, Lifetime Achievement Awards are open for public nomination and a limited number of tickets to attend the event, in honour of the winners, will be made available for purchase.

The event this year has been redesigned and in addition to a stellar line-up of entertainment and five-star hosting, guests can enjoy a talk-show format with the winners. “Since we have shifted focus to the acknowledgement and celebration of the icons of the local creative sector, the number of Lifetime Awards allocated have been increased. Their acceptance speeches have become the highlight of the event and we believe the new format will maximize the opportunity to get to know these phenomenal artists and their stories,” says Chief Executive Officer of ACT, Pieter Jacobs.

Some of the previous Lifetime Achievement recipients include Miriam Makeba, Nadine Gordimer, Pieter-Dirk Uys, John Kani and Johnny Clegg. Among the ImpACT Award winners are POPArt, Benon Lutaaya, Letlhogonolo Nche, The Muffinz, Blessing Ngobeni, Bambo Sibiya, Nomfundo Xaluva, Thabo Makhetha and Jade Bowers.

“For ACT, the aim of this kind of acknowledgement for having done something superbly well is so much more than a boost of morale,” explains Jacobs. “The highlight these awards cast on its recipients’ careers, especially those of young professionals, offers them valuable exposure that associates them with individuals and groups that excel in their chosen field. The promotion and endorsement they receive, even years after being awarded, supports the growth of their markets and networks.”

The ACT Awards are open for public nomination and the ACT Board of Trustees will select winners. For more information about the criteria and to submit a nomination, please follow this link: Nominations will close on June 30, 2017.