national Arts Festival Banner

Wednesday, May 29, 2019


(Lykele Temmingh)

Lykele Temmingh, KZN Philharmonic Resident Conductor, launches the Orchestra’s 2019 World Symphony Series Winter Season tomorrow (May 30, 2019) at 19h30 in the Durban City Hall.

with a programme featuring two cornerstone masterworks by those giant figures of the 19th Century’s concert repertoire - Johannes Brahms and Antonin Dvořák. Brahms completed his d minor Piano Concerto in 1858. This followed a complicated gestation process during which it began life as a sonata for two pianos, subsequently developing along the lines of a symphony, before eventually assuming its famed, tempestuous identity in which soloist and orchestral forces are pitted so memorably against each other.

At the time of its creation, Brahms’s comfort zone was music for solo piano. This was his very first creation for the instrument on a more epic scale. Never before had Brahms composed something with such depth, orchestration and duration. It’s not surprising then, that it was written over a full four-year period. The composer was at pains to ensure its première was a success – not least because he was already known as something of a piano expert. Predictably the piece was initially dismissed by those ‘in the know’ and was never held in such high esteem as other Romantic piano war-horses of the period. Now, however, it’s a very different story: this is one of the best-loved and most frequently performed piano concertos in the world. It offers a highly charged platform for the young Venezuelan virtuoso, Edith Peña, to take the spotlight for her KZN Philharmonic debut appearance.

Temmingh brings the evening to a rousing climax with Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No 7. Completed and first performed in 1885 when the great Czech composer was at the height of his creative powers, the four-movement work embodies the full spectrum of the master composer’s distinctive flair for evoking a powerfully visceral concert experience.

Tickets at the door or book now through Computicket (0861 915 8000). Become a season subscriber - contact or 031 369 9438

The next three concerts of the season all take place at 19h30 in the Durban City Hall:

Conductor: Yasuo Shinozaki
Soloist: Alexander Ramm, cello
Weber: Overture to Der Freischütz 
Elgar: Cello Concerto in e minor, Op. 85
Sibelius: Symphony No. 1 in e minor, Op. 39

Conductor: Yasuo Shinozaki
Soloist:  Sodi Braide, piano
Mozart: Overture to Idomeneo
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K. 488
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1 in g minor, Op. 13, “Winter Daydreams”

Conductor: Robert Moody
Soloist: Ye-Eun Choi, violin
Vivaldi: The Four Seasons, Op. 8
Mendelssohn: The Hebrides, Op. 26, Fingal’s Cave
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 5 in D Major, Op. 107, “Reformation”