national Arts Festival Banner

Thursday, October 24, 2019


Deadline: November 2, 2019

The African Emerging Filmmakers Awards [AEFA] would like to invite all filmmakers to submit their films. The Awards Ceremony will be on November 16, 2019, at the Greyville Race Course. The film submissions' call-out period runs until November 2,  2019.

Film producers of African origin from all over the continent are invited to submit their films. Films from any genre can be submitted in a DVD format. We request that the films which are submitted must be clearly marked with: "The Film Title", "The Producer's Name" and "The Producer's Contact Details". Categories are as follows:

1. Best Actor
2. Best Actress
3. Best Supporting Actor
4. Best Supporting Actress
5. Best Film in Vernacular Language
6. Best Screen Writer/Story
7. Best Director
8. Best Editor
9. Best Feature Film
10. Best Sound
11. Best Cinematographer
12. Best Student Production

Some of the nominated films will be screened in the Ethekwini Film Market [EFM] which will take place on November 8, 2019.

All members of the public are invited to come and see the films that are locally produced and get a chance to mingle with the directors, producers and actors.

The awards are a growing platform that encourages good quality productions and has seen local emerging film producers witness seeing their films on national television after receiving awards or nominations in these awards.

Films can be either hand-delivered during office hours or sent via post to Durban Film Office, 41 Margaret Mncadi Avenue, Rennie House, 11th Floor no later than November 2, 2019.

Regrettably, films with technical errors will not be considered.

For any inquiries regarding the awards' submissions, contact Ethekwini Filmmakers Association (EFA) via email: or call the Secretary Happiness Mpase on +27 74 362 2493 for international participants or 074 362 2493 for South African participants.

These awards are hosted by Ethekwini Filmmakers Association, with the assistance of the Durban Film Office, KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission, and KZN EDTEA.