national Arts Festival Banner

Saturday, November 7, 2020


Deadline: November 13, 2020.

The African Emerging Filmmakers Awards (AEFA) would like to invite all filmmakers to submit their films for the 8th African Emerging Filmmakers Awards.

The film submissions' call out period opens on the October 28, 2020, and runs until November 13, 2020.

Film producers of African origin from all over the continent are invited to submit their films. Films from any genre can be submitted in a DVD format or via email through submitting a downloadable link of the film. We request that the films which are submitted must be clearly marked with: "The Film Title", "The Producer's Name" and "The Producer's Contact Details".

Categories are as follows:

1. Best Actor

2. Best Actress

3. Best Supporting Actor

4. Best Supporting Actress

5. Best Film in Vernacular Language

6. Best Screen Writer/Story

7. Best Director

8. Best Editor

9. Best Feature Film

10. Best Sound

11. Best Cinematographer

12. Best Student Production


The awards are a growing platform that encourages good quality productions and has seen local emerging film producers witness seeing their films on national television after receiving awards or nominations in these awards.

Films can be either hand delivered -during office hours- or sent via post to Durban Film Office, 41 Margaret Mncadi Avenue, Rennie House, 11thFloor no later than November 13, 2020.

Regrettably, films with technical errors will not be considered. For any inquiries regarding the awards' submissions, contact Ethekwini Filmmakers Association (EFA) via email:

These awards are hosted by Ethekwini Filmmakers Association, with the assistance of the Durban Film Office, Kwazulu Natal Film Commission, and KZN EDTEA.