national Arts Festival Banner

Tuesday, June 20, 2023



Naledi Theatre Awards 2023 for Productions staged during 2022.

2022 offered an incredibly high standard of productions across all genres. Judges saw over 80 productions in the Plays and Musicals Category alone.

“When it came to judging this year, the judges were faced with a mammoth task, as productions that would have been nominated or won in previous years often did not make it” said Renos Spenoudes, Chair of the judging Panel.

Lihan Pretorius agreed, “As the Naledis, our watchword is always to look for “excellence” in theatre. 2022 provided us with truly innovative work that push not only the performers, but also the audiences. In fact, the bar has definitely been raised.”

This year’s Awards Ceremony has risen to the challenge and will be the most glamourous production yet. Not only is there a star-studded cast of performers to entertain, which includes the likes of Andre Schwartz and Amanda Strydom with a medley from their hit show, Brel/Piaf; What’s Up from the musical/cabaret, Vincent, performed by the extraordinarily talented Daniel Anderson; a Hlakanyana medley performed by the cast of Hlakanyana and the evocative choral piece, Stars, performed by the Veni Cantare Choristers for the In Memoriam section, to mention but a few.

This Black-Tie event, always a highlight on the Theatre Calendar, would not be possible without the wonderful sponsorships the Naledis receive from their host, The Joburg Theatre, the technical sponsor, Splitbeam, Business and Arts South Africa, Alan Ford Productions, The South African State Theatre, Lift Airlines, Heineken Beverages, Blue Key Digital Marketing, Mindpool Productions, Galore SA Media, WS Pianos and all the volunteers who have helped with the Event. Without these generous sponsors, the event would not take place despite very concerted efforts to find a Headline Sponsor for the awards.

“We are especially proud to be announcing two lifetime achievement awards, which go to Theatre Legends Bernard Jay and Paul Slabolepszy, and the CEO’s Award for Innovation in Theatre to Frans Swart of Lefra Productions for the ground-breaking Oppiwater Kunstefees” enthuses Lihan Pretorius, CEO of the Awards.

The CEO and Board of the Naledi Theatre Awards are proud to announce the Winners of the 2023 Naledis for productions staged in 2022.


Best Production For Children & Young Audiences (Aged 0-13) – SUPPORTED BY ASSITEJ SA

Innocence Lost (National Children's Theatre)


Best Performance In A Production For Young Audiences

Noni Mkhonto (The Little Mermaid Jr. - People's Theatre)


Best Production: Independent-/Fringe Theatre

Cruise (HIV@40)


Best Performance In An Independent-/Fringe Theatre Production

Daniel Geddes (Cruise - HIV@40)


Best Production: Student Theatre

Cabaret (Redhill School)


Best Performance In A Student Theatre Production

Nicolas Hattingh  (Cabaret - Redhill School)


Best Production: Dance, Physical Theatre And Ballet

Ingress (Moving Into Dance)


Best Performance In A Dance, Physical Theatre And Ballet Production

Oscar Buthelezi (Ingress - Moving Into Dance)


Best Supporting Actress In A Play

Jennifer Steyn (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)


Best Supporting Actor In A Play

Sven Ruygrok (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)


Best Breakthrough Performance

Boitumelo Morule (Pelegi)


Best Choreography In A Play Or Musical Theatre Production

Ignatius van Heerden (Birthing Nureyev)


Best Original Score / Musical Arrangements

Sne Dladla, Zolani Shangase, Dionne Song & Viwe Mkizwana (Hlakanyana - The Musical)


Best Original Soundscape

Lungiswa Plaatjies (Kunene and the King)


Best Musical Director

Dale Ray Scheepers, Viwe Mkizwana & Zolani Shangase (Hlakanyana - The Musical)


Best Performance In A Solo Production

Ruan Wessels (Plesierengel)


Best Performance In A Solo Comedy Production (With Elements Of Stand-Up)

Alan Committie (Live and Let Laugh)


Best Ensemble In A Musical Theatre Production

Ensemble (Hlakanyana - The Musical)


Best Ensemble In A Play

Cast (The Red on the Rainbow)


Best Costume Design

Anjil Naidoo, Priyen Naidoo, Jerry D’Souza & Bipin Tanna (Aladdin and his Wonderful Lamp)


Best Theatre Set Design

Greg King (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)


Best Theatre AV Design

Andrew Timm (Janice Honeyman's Adventures in Pantoland)


Best Lighting Design

Bobby Heaney & Francois van der Hoven (Fordsburg's Finest)


Best Sound Design

Pieter-Louis van Twisk (Die Gelofte)


Best Director Of A Musical Theatre Production

Janice Honeyman (Hlakanyana - The Musical)


Best Director Of A Play

Charmaine Weir-Smith (The Beauty Queen of Leenane)


Best Supporting Actress In A Musical Theatre Production

Momo Matsunyane (Hlakanyana - The Musical)


Best Supporting Actor In A Musical Theatre Production

Sibusiso Mxosana (Hlakanyana - The Musical)


Best Leading Actress In A Musical Theatre Production

Amanda Strydom (Brel/Piaf)


Best Leading Actor In A Musical Theatre Production

Sandisile Dlangalala (Hlakanyana - The Musical)


Best Leading Actress In A Play

Gontse Ntshegang (The Parrot Woman)


Best Leading Actor In A Play

Michael Richard (Kunene and the King)


Best New South African Script

John Kani (Kunene and the King)


Best Production Of A Play

The Beauty Queen of Leenane (How Now Brown Cow)


Best Production Of A Musical/Musical Theatre Production

Hlakanyana - The Musical (UJ Arts & Culture and Madevu Entertainment)