national Arts Festival Banner

Saturday, August 16, 2008


The Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) Awards 2008, presented by Nedbank, supported by CLASSICFEEL Magazine and the Cape Town’s Fine Music Radio 101.3, has announced the finalists for the 2008 Awards. ACT Awards celebrate and recognise outstanding individuals, organisations or agencies that have played an integral role in the development and promotion of arts, culture and creativity in South Africa.

The winners of the 10th annual ACT Awards will be announced on September 18 at a ceremony to be held at Nedbank Sandton in Johannesburg. TV personalities Sindy Mabe and Graeme Richards will act as MC and acclaimed dancers and performers will provide a spectacular line-up of entertainment: dancers Dada Masilo and Lulu Mlangeni performing the Forgotten Angle Theatre Collaborative’s BACK; songbird Nkoto Malebye; the inimitable Shaleen Surtie-Richards with an excerpt of the South African version of Shirley Valentine; Gera Phielix on the piano, Elton Landrew and Cheslyn and Hayley, Latin-American dancers of note will all add sparkle to the tenth anniversary ceremony.

The adjudication panel, convened by Brenda Radloff Devar, a trustee of ACT, is made up of respected art and media personalities: George Mxadana, musical director and conductor of Imilonji KaNtu Choral Society; journalist and writer Mandla Motau; artistic and executive director of the Tribhangi Dance Theatre Jayesperi Moopen, celebrated performer Abigail Kubeka and internationally acclaimed playwright, choreographer and director, Welcome Msomi.

“These awards provide a wonderful opportunity for colleagues and associates to acknowledge professional excellence and dedication by nominating worthy recipients and setting them apart for acknowledgment. The 2008 finalists were chosen from a truly dynamic list of nominations submitted by the public,” said Brenda Devar. “Great vision and leadership distinguished our list of finalists and we look forward to the judge’s final decision and to adding the 2008 winners to the list of esteemed recipients of these prestigious awards.”

The finalists for the ACT Arts Management Award 2008 (for remarkable performance in the areas of art management, administration, publicity or marketing) supported by Exclusive Books are: Bernard Jay, Daphne Kuhn, Nonkululeko Thabede and Roz van der Vyver. The finalists for the ACT Arts Media Award 2008 (for excellence in arts and culture reporting or criticism and generating significant coverage of arts, culture or heritage in a print, electronic or broadcast media publication or programme) supported by ClassicFeel Magazine and Fine Music Radio 101.3 FM are: Artcha, and Applause.

The finalists for the ACT Arts Education Award 2008 (a programme or institution offering a significant contribution to arts, culture and heritage education in the formal or informal sectors) sponsored by Sun International are: the Amy Biehl Foundation, the Cultural Development Trust (CDT), the Mangaung Drama & Dance Group (MDG) and the Thandi Arts Project. The finalists for the ACT Cultural Development Award 2008 (an outstanding project or programme that has contributed significantly to the development in arts and culture) sponsored by Distell are: Khumbulani Craft, Moving into Dance Mophatong (MIDM) and Sibikwa Community Project.

The finalists for the ACT Creative Industries Award 2008 (an organisation, programme or project for excellence in fostering cultural diversity on the global market in one of the following sectors: architecture and interior design, craft, design, events and cultural tourism) sponsored by Distell are: GUMBO, Mother City Queer Projects (MCQP) and Reggie Legoale Creative.

ACT Lifetime Achievement Awards, sponsored by the Vodacom Foundation, will be presented to outstanding individuals for a significant contribution during their lifetime in the areas of visual art or craft, music or dance and theatre or literature. These awards, at the discretion of the ACT Board of Trustees, will be presented at the Awards ceremony on 18 September 2008. Previous winners of the prestigious ACT Lifetime Achievement Awards have included Gibson Kente, Es’kia Mphalele, Sylvia Glasser, Sophie Mgcina, Esther Mahlangu and most recently Ronnie Govender.

Through the Awards, principal sponsor Nedbank highlights its commitment to arts and culture development, promotion and preservation in South Africa. Commenting on this long-standing support, Tom Boardman, Chief Executive of the Nedbank Group said, “Nedbank is proud to be part of the tenth annual ACT Awards. Through this great initiative, Nedbank remains committed to arts and culture development, promotion and preservation within South Africa.”

The Nedbank Arts Affinity programme was started in 1994 with a suite of banking products (credit cards, savings and current accounts). When a person uses their Arts Affinity banking product, Nedbank donates to the Arts & Culture Trust at no cost to the client. Since inception Nedbank has donated more than R8.5 million to the Arts & Culture Trust. The more clients use their Arts Affinity bank accounts, the more Nedbank contributes to ACT and ACT-funded projects.

The public can make a difference in the development of arts and culture through usage of one of the Nedbank Arts Affinity products. Apply today, either on-line on or call 0860 102 415 or visit any Nedbank branch. More information at