national Arts Festival Banner

Monday, November 19, 2012


Choose your favourite 2012 Durban theatre personality from the 10 nominees listed at the end of this article and you will put that person in line to win this year’s Mercury Durban Theatre Personality of the Year Award – the only local theatre award voted for exclusively by the public.

By voting for a personality listed here – simply by entering (via e-mail only) – you stand a chance of winning a three-month subscription to KwaZulu-Natal’s favourite morning newspaper.

The popularity award – plus a year’s free subscription to The Mercury – will be presented to the winner at the awards bash by Mercury arts editor Billy Suter.

The ceremony, open to the public and featuring excerpts from Durban’s festive season shows, will be staged at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre at 19h30 on December 3. Tickets R80 at Computicket outlets.

To enter this poll, simply send your e-mail vote to by midnight on Tuesday, November 27. In the e-mail subject field, ensure you have the words “Theatre Personality”, followed by the name (in capital letters) of the person who gets your vote.

Only one vote per e-mail address will be considered. Also, in the main body of your e-mail, please include your own name, surname, contact number and residential address, to put yourself in line to win that free three-month subscription.

The 2012 nominees, listed below in alphabetical order, are: Janine Bennewith; Neil Coppen; Bryan Hiles; Faca Kulu; Marion Loudon; Mpume Mthombeni; Janna Ramos-Violante; Clinton Small; Daisy Spencer and Jacobus Van Heerden.