national Arts Festival Banner

Monday, March 18, 2013


The prestigious 48th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards took place at the Artscape Theatre in Cape Town last night, (March 17, 2013). It was a glamorous red carpet event, attended by celebrities, VIP’s and the crème de la crème of the South African theatre scene. Top South African comedian Alan Committee hosted the onstage proceedings with great humour and flair. Africa Melane, a Fleur du Cap panel member and Capetalk presenter, was his co-host for the evening.

Awards for productions staged in 2012 were given in 20 different categories, the winners each receiving a silver medallion and a R15,000 cash prize.

Durban’s top theatre company, KickstArt, was represented in a number of nominations for Cabaret which toured to Montecasino and Theatre on the Bay after its Durban run.

The production won three awards in the Musical or Music Theatre Show category:

Samantha Peo as Sally Bowles: Best Performance by a Lead Actress

Charon Williams-Ros as Fräulein Schneider: Best Performance by a Supporting Actress

Peter Court as Herr Schultz: Best Performance by a Supporting Actor

The Fleur du Cap judging panel is made up of local critics, journalists, writers and drama educators, who base their decisions on having viewed close to 100 productions over 12 months, in several venues in and around Cape Town.

The next Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards will be held in March 2014. People can follow the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards on Facebook to stay updated with theatre news and share their theatre experiences. The Twitter handle is @FDCTheatreAward