national Arts Festival Banner

Wednesday, July 24, 2013


(Connie Ferguson & Brandon Eilers)

Celebrity contestants and their dance partners can be seen in the 6th season of the popular international dance show, Strictly Come Dancing. Aired on SABC3, the weekly live show puts the 10 celebrity contestants through their paces as they attempt to conquer the glitzy world of dance.

The five male contestants are Expresso presenter Graeme Richards, comedian Mpho Popps, 5fm breakfast radio producer Damon Kalvari, Durban-based musician L’vovo and popular actor Thapelo Mokoena.

The female contestants are; TV presenters Lalla Hirayama and Kuli Roberts, and popular actresses Connie Ferguson, Zakeeya Patel (High Rollers) and Jay Anstey (Isidingo).

Putting the celebrities through their paces will be a very talented team of professional dancers that consists of Hayley Hammond, Hayley Bennet, Nombulelo Hlathi, Mary Martins, Lindsey Muckle, Sylvester Sefotlhelo, Grant Esterhuizen, Brandon Eilers, Ryan Hammond and Tsholo Moholowane.

Hayley Hammond, Mary Martin, Ryan Hammond, Brandon Eilers and Hayley Bennet have been part of previous seasons of Strictly Come Dancing and share four victories amongst themselves. They return to hunt for more accolades alongside very capable newcomers Nombulelo Hlathi, Sylvester Sefotlhelo, Grant Esterhuizen and Tsholo Moholwane.

Hosts for the show are comedian Marc Lottering and radio DJ, Pabi Moloi. With a brand new judging panel of dance industry professionals Michael Wentink, Tebogo Kgobokoe and Samantha Peo; the sixth season of the popular dance franchise, and first season SABC 3 promises to be a major highlight for South African television this year.

Strictly Come Dancing airs on SABC3 on Wednesdays from 20h00 to 22h00.