national Arts Festival Banner

Sunday, May 18, 2014


(Qudaysiya Khan, winner of the artSMart Trophy)

Held earlier this week, and forming part of the 2012 National Creative Arts Youth Festival currently running at the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre, was the annual Drum for Joy Steel Drum Competition.

The event features schools from around KZN and is always filled with high energy and a continually improving standard of steel drum music.

Run by the indefatigable Bryan Clarke who has been involved in the competition since its inception, this year’s judge was Caroline Smart who has also been judging the competition for 18 years.

In the Primary School section, the Drum for Joy Trophy went to Durban Primary in first position with Kokstad Junior Grade 6 winning the Troubadour Productions Trophy in second place and Brown School Grade 5 in third place.

Steel Drum Foundation Trophies were won by Hilda Makhanya for the Most Outstanding Single Performance by a Band for their presentation of I Will Survive and Warner Beach won the Most Improved Junior School Band.

In the High School section, Inanda Field Band won the Elizabeth Sneddon Trophy for first place with Sparks Estate winning the Troubadour Trophy for second place.

The Dobri Paliev Trophy for Best High School Individual Piece was won by Hillcrest for Hawaii 5-O and Gordon Road won the KZN Philharmonic Orchestra Spirit Trophy.

The artSMart Rising Star Trophy for an outstanding performance by an individual band member was won by Qudaysiya Khan from Kokstad Junior Grade 5.

This trophy is presented to someone who presents an efficient and professional attitude in their work. The other nominees were:

PRIMARY SCHOOL SECTION: Scherrin Zubek (Brown School Grade 4); Zama Xaba (Gordon Road); Londiwe Mnyandu (Hilda Makhanya); Megan Daniel (Brown School Grade 5); Scott Strachan (St Patricks School Grade 5); Athandiwe Mbangatha (Kokstad Junior Grade 6); Max Bishop (St Patricks Grade 6); Thando Mnthambo (Durban Primary); Thanda Ngwane (Warner Beach)

HIGH SCHOOL SECTION: Yandisa Nene (Inanda Seminary Grade 9N); Snehlanhla Mabaso (Sparks Estate); Nontobeko Ngwazi (Inanda Field Band); and Cindy Nzama (Hillcrest)

For more information on the National Creative Arts Youth Festival, contact 031 210 9312 or email: