national Arts Festival Banner

Thursday, May 14, 2015


(Winner of the artSMart Trophy, Nokukhanya Mlambo, also collected the High School section first prize for her school, Inanda Seminary Grade 9A, from judges Patti Bosman and Caroline Smart)

Today’s annual Drum for Joy Steel Drum Competition once again filled the Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre with excited youngsters. The competition forms part of the 2015 National Creative Arts Youth Festival which is currently taking place at the theatre.

The competition features schools from around KZN and is always filled with high energy and a consistently improving standard of steel drum music.

Stalwarts of the competition, organiser and band leader Bryan Clarke who co-founded the festival in 1995, and Caroline Smart who has been judging the competition since its inception, celebrated the 20 years of the competition’s existence. This year, Patti Bosman joined the judging panel bringing with her, her many years of experience of steel band music.

In the Primary School section, the Drum for Joy Trophy went to Kokstad Junior Grade 6 in first position with St Patricks Grade 6 winning the Troubadour Productions Trophy in second place and Warner Beach in third place.

In the High School section, Inanda 9A won the Elizabeth Sneddon Trophy for first place with Hillcrest winning the Troubadour Productions Trophy for second place.

St Mary’s won the KZN Philharmonic Orchestra Spirit Trophy.

The artSMart Rising Star Trophy for an outstanding performance by an individual band member was won by Nokukhanya Mlambo from Inanda 9A. This trophy is presented to someone who presents an efficient and professional attitude in their work.

The other Rising Star nominees were:

PRIMARY SCHOOL SECTION: Jayden Roberts (Brown School Grade 4); Andiswa Ngcobo (Gordon Road); Siyasanga Ngissa (Kokstad Junior Grade 5); Iviwe Bhengu (St Mary’s); Scherrin Zubek who was also a nominee last year (Brown School Grade 5); Esihle Ntonga (St Patricks School Grade 5); Sthabile Zondo (Durban Primary); Thobele Chaka (St Patricks School Grade 5); Charissa Schutte (Kokstad Junior Grade 6); Abigail Masonda (Warner Beach), and Ncuthukazi Dlatu (St Patricks Grade 6);

HIGH SCHOOL SECTION: Hloniphile Ndlovu (Inanda Seminary Grade 9B); Ndumiso Sibisi (Hillcrest), and Nokukhanya Mlambo (Inanda Seminary Grade 9A).

For more information on the Drum for Joy competition, contact the National Creative Arts Youth Festival Office, on 083 952 5714 or