national Arts Festival Banner

Sunday, May 1, 2016


The Theatre–St Anne’s College will present its annual Funk season at the Hexagon Theatre in Pietermaritzburg. Participating schools are Carter, Epworth, GHS, Hilton College, Howick High School, MCS, Maritzburg College, Russell Girls’ High, St Anne’s, St John’s, St Nicholas and TWC.

“Funk continues to generate tremendous excitement and has been a firm favourite on the annual school production calendar now for 17 years! This year we have found a new home at the Hexagon Theatre, a specific move to generate greater community involvement in the production,” says director Lynn Chemaly.

“Funk evolved as an idea to create a dance programme for schools with very specific aims. Firstly to unite schools in working towards a common goal; secondly to give Drama students and their teachers the opportunity to create and rehearse pieces of dance theatre for public performance; thirdly, to enable young people to see that movement, dance and dance theatre is accessible to them and not only in the hands of professional adult dance companies; and finally, and perhaps most importantly of all, to generate meaning and artistic integrity through dance choreography whilst challenging young people to work outside of their comfort zones,” she adds.

The task for each school remains constant: to create a six-minute piece of dance choreography integrating any type of musical or textual accompaniment. The programme accommodates a range of choreographic and performance possibilities and provides the perfect opportunity for schools to experiment with new forms. It is also important to emphasise that this platform is not a competition, and should not be seen in the same light as a sports festival or inter-house competition. The highlight of the production is always the mass group Finale which incorporates all the schools together on the stage.

Funk is produced by The Theatre–St Anne’s College, directed by Lynn Chemaly, with the Finale created by Arum Bydawell and is technically managed and administrated by the Hexagon Theatre.

Funk 2016 has performances on May 6, 7, 9, 10 and 11 at 19h30 at the Hexagon Theatre on the University of KwaZulu-Natal Pietermaritzburg campus. Tickets R70 booked at Computicket.