national Arts Festival Banner

Friday, October 14, 2016


Covering 17 days of theatre, dance, illusion, performance and music, the Cape Town Fringe came to a close on October 8.

While there were no winners from KZN, TQ Zondi and Mpilo Nzimande were nominated for Woza Albert! and Liesl Coppin was nominated for Glitter Girls.

The Awards were introduced this year to reward the performers and productions that stood out in a programme filled with new and edgy work. Fringe Fresh Awards convenor, Tracey Saunders, worked with a panel of theatre critics and industry leaders to select works that were felt to be worthy of special recognition.

Says Saunders: “There has been a wealth of talent but it's the creative efforts that have been fresh and exciting that have really given the Festival a distinctive characteristic. It is my hope that the Fresh Fringe awards becomes as intertwined with the spirit of Cape Town as the pink duck of the Amsterdam Fringe. The Fabulous Fringe Roll of Honour in particular acknowledges the work that is done on the fringes, not only at the time of the Festival but throughout the year. The Fringe is a place of daring and adventure, an opportunity to take a chance and show your creative wild card. The past 17 days has done exactly that and more"

For the full list of Fringe Fresh Award nominees visit