national Arts Festival Banner

Saturday, April 15, 2017


The next symphony season of the KZN Philharmonic Orchestra starts on June 1.

The series includes:

June 1: Conductor: Naum Rousine.
Soloists: Liebrecht Vanbeckenvoort (piano); Nozuko Teto (soprano); Violina Anguelov (mezzo-soprano); Wayne Mkhize (tenor), and Mthunzi Nokubeka (baritone) with the Yale Glee Club Choir (USA). The programme will feature Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15 and Beethoven’s Mass in C major, Op. 86.

June 8: Conductor: Daniel Boico
Soloist: Philippe Graffin, violin.
The programme will feature Glazunov’s Overture solennelle, Op. 73, Lalo’s Symphonie Espagnole in D minor, Op. 21 and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93.

June 15: Conductor: Daniel Raiskin
Soloist: Lukas Vondracek (piano)
The programme includes Weber’s Overture to Euryanthe; Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 4 in G minor, Op. 40 and Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 in D minor

June 22: Conductor: Daniel Raiskin
Soloists: DECODA Ensemble (DECODA is an affiliate ensemble of Carnegie Hall in New York)
The programme includes Van Dijk’s Drop; Lutoslawski’s Dance Prelude; Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante in B flat, Op. 84 and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67.

All concerts take place in the Durban City Hall at 19h30. Single tickets priced from R65 – R230 are available at Computicket. Pre-concert talks are held from 18h00 to 18h45. The City Hall precinct, including surrounding parking garages, is patrolled by a dedicated security team. For further information visit or click on the orchestra’s banner advert on the top right hand of this page.