national Arts Festival Banner

Monday, January 13, 2020


(Brenda Blethyn & Kenny Daughty)

BAFTA and Golden Globes-winning actress Brenda Blethyn returns to ITV Choice for the tenth season of the acclaimed drama series Vera on Wednesday, January 22, 2020, at 20h00 with four new feature length episodes.

Following the success of series nine, award-winning actress Blethyn is back as the unorthodox but brilliantly perceptive DCI Vera Stanhope. Four new two-hour long episodes, sees the return of Kenny Doughty as Detective Sergeant Aiden Healy, who over the years has proved himself to be a strong and reliable partner to DCI Stanhope. Completing Vera’s team is Jon Morrison who plays DC Kenny Lockhart, Riley Jones who plays DC Mark Edwards, Ibinabo Jack who plays DC Jacqueline Williams and Paul Kaye who returns as Pathologist Dr Malcolm Donahue.

Commented Blethyn: “Along with the rest of the cast of Vera, I’m delighted to be returning for a tenth series. The enthusiasm and warmth shown to Vera has been overwhelming. Vera is said to be the longest running ITV drama series with a female lead. Who would have thought somebody as shambolic as Vera, looking like she does, would have such an appeal?

“I think Vera has paved the way to some extent for other strong female lead characters and since we started in 2010, the TV industry has changed and there have been lots of female leads and good roles for women.”

Says co-star Doughty: "The themes in series 10 are quite expansive. In the opening episode the writer Paul Logue has looked at justice, the implications of financial problems and what really is family, blood and loyalty while episode two talks about fatherhood, parenting and belonging; episode three is about atonement and the exploitation of zero-hour contracts and the fourth episode covers passion, addictions and how organised crimes can exploit others.”

The four self-contained crime stories are inspired by the best-selling novels and characters created by acclaimed crime writer Ann Cleeves, who received the Diamond Dagger Award at the Crime Writers’ Association in 2017 for a lifetime achievement for sustained excellence.