national Arts Festival Banner

Monday, November 29, 2021


(Above: Paul Slabolepszy)

Catch this charming film online

Mr. Johnson, a new film starring Paul Slabolepszy and Jana Cilliers, is available on the DStv Online platform. This is an online movie rental service that is available to anyone in SA. You must have a DStv Connect ID and a BoxOffice account, which you can get by signing up on the BoxOffice Online website or on

This bitter-sweet drama, follows the adventures of David Johnson (Paul Slabolepszy) who wakes from a 47-year coma at the age of 73.  He has a hard time dealing with his aged body and the fact that he has missed out on more than half his life.  But as he slowly makes his way into a strange new world, his youthful exuberance is undimmed and, with a little prodding, he tackles life, and love, with the energy of his 26-year-old self.

The story tackles existential questions about the meaning of life, and the ‘fish out of water’ angle has wide appeal. 

Mr Johnson has been a firm favourite with local and international film festival audiences and has won Best Feature Film at the Lonely Wolf: London International Film Festival, as well as the jury prizes for Best Film and Best Actor in a leading role (Paul Slabolepszy) at the Global Nonviolent Film Festival.

It the latest film from the Azania Productions stable (Broken Promises 4-Ever, Blessers), and is written and directed by award-winning cinematographer, William Collinson (Double Echo, Last Broken Darkness). This is his feature film directorial debut.

While cinemas are slowly returning to pre-COVID screening schedules, many continue to social distance. “BoxOffice has broken many rental records during lockdown with people enjoying a big-screen movie experience while keeping safe,” says Helen Kuun, CEO of Indigenous Film Distribution.

The film also stars Frank Rautenbach (The Bang Bang Club), Sisanda Henna (Griekwastad), Graham Hopkins (Eye in the Sky), Jailoshini Naidoo (Keeping Up with the Kandasamys), Carla Classen (Stroomop), Drikus Volschenk (Dis Ek, Anna), Antony Coleman (Blood Diamond), Heike Brunner (Knysna), Clayton Boyd (The Entity), Marinus Gubitz (Onortodoks), and Mila Guy (Wonderlus).

Mr Johnson was made with support of the Department of Trade, Industry and Competition, National Film and Video Foundation and Indigenous Film Distribution.