national Arts Festival Banner

Saturday, October 31, 2015


(Jill Murraybrown, Francois Hardy, Marion Loudon & Andy Turrell)

If you are into old school Rock and Roll, then Mazirlou and the Rockabilly Rebels, Durban’s newest rockabilly band, is just for you. Giving two performances at the Westville Country Club tomorrow (November 1), The Story of Rockabilly features its creator, ace guitarist Andy Turrell, with Marion Loudon (vocals), Jill Murraybrown (bass guitar) and Francois Hardy (drums and vocals).

Rockabilly music is timeless and has recently seen a massive worldwide revival by a new generation of young musicians who love the rough-edged country rock sounds of the 50’s. With Rockabilly’s definitive strong rhythms, vocal twangs and common use of the tape echo, it was popularised by artists like Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Buddy Holly, Wanda Jackson, the Everly Brothers, Johnny Horton, Roy Orbison, Eddie Cochran, Bill Haley, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis.

Bands are made up typically with just guitar, double bass, drums, piano and vocals. Latter day Rockabilly bands include the Stray Cats, Irish born Imelda May and American Kim Lenz.

Expect to hear all the great rockabilly hits, Train Kept a Rollin, That’s Alright, Rock Around the Clock, Folsom Prison Blues, Be Bop A Lula and Mystery Train.

Performances take place on November 1 at 14h30 and 19h00. Tickets R220 (R200 WCC members and pensioners) include a buffet meal and the venue opens 90 minutes before the show for the meal). There is a full bar (no alcohol or food may be brought on to the premises) and secure parking is available.

Presented by Westville Country Club in Association with Rhumbelow Theatre, The Story of Rockabilly takes place in the Westville Old Boys Hall at the Westville Country Club, 1 Link Road, Westville.

Booking is essential through Computicket or Roland on 082 499 8636 or e-mail: or visit
 NB: “The Story of Rockabilly” will have two performances in Pietermaritzburg at the Allan Wilson Shellhole, 5 Durban Road, on November 8 at 14h00 and 18h30. The same booking details apply.