national Arts Festival Banner

Thursday, April 27, 2017


The next symphony season of the KZN Philharmonic will take place from June 1 to 22 with concerts every Thursday night in the Durban City Hall.

The line-up is as follows:

June 1: Conductor: Naum Rousine, Soloists: Liebrecht Vanbeckenvoort, piano; Nozuko Teto, soprano; Violina Anguelov, mezzo-soprano; Wayne Mkhize, tenor and Mthunzi Nokubeka, baritone.  Also appearing will be the Yale Glee Club Choir from the USA. The programme includes Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15 and Beethoven’s Mass in C major, Op. 86

June 8: Conductor: Daniel Boico. Soloist: Philippe Graffin, violin. The programme includes Glazunov’s Overture solennelle, Op. 73; Lalo’s Symphonie Espagnole in D minor, Op. 21 and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93

June 15: Conductor: Daniel Raiskin. Soloist: Lukas Vondracek, piano. The programme includes Weber’s Overture to Euryanthe; Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 4 in G minor, Op. 40 and Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 in D minor

June 22: Conductor: Daniel Raiskin. Soloists: DECODA Ensemble, an affiliate ensemble of Carnegie Hall in New York. The programme includes Van Dijk’s Drop; Lutoslawski’s Dance Preludes; Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante in B flat, Op. 84 and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67.

All concerts take place at 19h30. Single tickets priced from R65 – R230 are available at Computicket. Pre-concert talks are held from 18h00 to 18h40. The City Hall precinct, including surrounding parking garages, is patrolled by a dedicated security team.

For further information click on the KZN Philharmonic's banner advert at the top of this page.